Air Force Releases Names of Crash Victims

The Nigerian Air Force has released the names of its officers who perished in the ill-fated aircraft that came down in Abuja on Sunday.

Spokesman of the Air Force Air Vice Marshall Ibikunle Daramola said the Chief of Air Staff Oladayo Amoo had ordered investigation into the crash.

The seven officials that died included Flight Lieutenant Haruna Gadzama (Captain) Flight Lieutenant Henry Piyo (Co-Pilot), Flying Officer Micheal Okpara (Airborne Tactical Observation System (ATOS) Specialist), Warrant Officer Bassey Etim (ATOS Specialis”t), Flight Sergeant Olasunkanmi Olawunmi (ATOS Specialist).

Others were Sergeant Ugochukwu Oluka (ATOS Specialist), Aircraftman Adewale Johnson (Onboard Technician).

“Earlier, the CAS visited the scene of the accident, in company of the Honourable Minister of Defence, Major General Bashir Magashi (retired); Minister of Aviation, Senator Hadi Sirika; Chief of Defence Staff, Major General Lucky Irabor, and other Service Chiefs. The CAS, on behalf of officers, airmen and airwomen of the NAF, once more commiserates with the families of the deceased personnel and prays that the Almighty God grants their souls eternal repose,” Daramola said.

Enjoyed this article? Stay informed by joining our newsletter!


You must be logged in to post a comment.

About Author