Bill to Amend Osun Local Government Creation Passes First Reading


The bill, State of Osun Local Government Areas Creation and Administration Amendment bill No.4, 2020, has scaled through first reading at the State House of Assembly.

The bill was read for the first time at Wednesday’s plenary presided over by the Speaker, Rt. Hon. Timothy Owoeye.

The bill is sponsored by Hon. Femi Popoola, the Deputy Speaker and member representing Boripe/Boluwaduro State Constituency and co-sponsored by Hon. Maruf Olanrewaju, the Majority Leader and member representing Irewole/Isokan State Constituency.

Ahead of the LG elections in Osun State, recall that Governor Gboyega Oyetola had on Tuesday nominated Barrister Segun Oladitan as the Chairman of Osun State Independent Electoral Commission (OSIEC).

Other members of the Electoral Commission are Mrs Abosede Omibekun (East), Mr. Rufus Oyeniran (West), Alhaja Babalola Adubi (Central) Mr Oladosu Gidigbi (East), Mr. Yinka Ajiboye (West) and Alhaji Wahaab Adewoyin (Central)

Enjoyed this article? Stay informed by joining our newsletter!


You must be logged in to post a comment.

About Author