New Leaders Emerge for Senate Committees

The upper chamber of the National Assembly on Wednesday announced a new leadership for its committees.

President of the Senate, Ahmad Lawan, who unveiled the new leadership urged the new Chairmen and Vice Chairmen to commence their duties immediately, particularly with work on the 2022 budget defense. 

In a statement signed by Special Assistant (Press) to President of the Senate, Ezrel Tabiowo, it was revealed that those to serve as Chairmen include Senator Sahabi Alhaji Ya’u – Committee on National Population and National Identity; Senator Adetokunbo Abiru – Committee on Industry; Senator Saidu Alkali – Committee on Trade and Investments; Senator Kabiru Barkiya – Committee on Inter-Parliamentary Affairs. 


Those selected to Vice-Chairmanship and Membership positions are Senator Seriake Dickson – Committee on Interior; and Member, Committee on Appropriations; Senator Biodun Olujimi – Member, Committee on Appropriations; Senator Tolu Odebiyi – Vice Chairman, Committee on Marine Transport; Senator Lekan Mustapha – Vice Chairman, INEC; Senator Jarigbe Agom Jarigbe – Vice Chairman, Committee on Foreign Affairs.


Others are Senator Moses Cleopas – Vice Chairman, National Planning and Economic Affairs; Senator Frank Ibezim Chukwuma – Vice Chairman, Committee on Industry; Senator Nora Ladi Daduut – Vice Chairman, Committee on Culture and Tourism; and Senator Degi-Biobarakuma Eremieyo Degi – Member, Committee on Appropriation.


The Senate President, Ahmad Lawan, in his remarks wished the newly selected well.


“We wish them like all of us, the best of tenure and steady hands on their work”, Lawan said.

Enjoyed this article? Stay informed by joining our newsletter!


You must be logged in to post a comment.

About Author