Nigerian Govt Showcases Biggest Train Station Along Lagos-Ibadan Corridor

The Federal Ministry of Transportation, headed by Rotimi Amaechi, has showcased the biggest train station along Lagos-Ibadan Corridor.

The Ministry released the visuals of the station to be named Mobolaji Johnson Station, Ebute Metta. 

Sharing the video, the Ministry tweeted: "Pleased to finally share with you our flagship station and by far the most spectacular train stop on the Lagos - Ibadan railway project. The station will be named Mobolaji Johnson Station, Ebute Metta."

The development follows President Muhammadu Buhari's July approval of the naming of some railway stations along the Lagos-Ibadan and Itakpe/Ajaokuta/Aladja/Warri corridor after some deserving Nigerian citizens.

The beneficiaries for the Lagos-Ibadan with extension to the Lagos Port Complex are Bola Ahmed Tinubu (Apapa station), Brigadier General Mobolaji Johnson Rtd. (Ebute Metta Station), Mr Babatunde Raji Fashola (Agege Station), Alhaji Lateef Jakande (Agbado station) and Prof. Yemi Osinbajo (Kajola station).

Other beneficiaries include Chief Funmilayo Ransome-Kuti (Papalanto station), Prof. Wole Soyinka (Abeokuta station), Aremo Olusegun Osoba (Olodo station), Chief Samuel Ladoke Akintola (Omio-Adio station), Chief Obafemi Awolowo (Ibadan station) and Chief Alex Ekwueme (Operation Control Centre).

For the Itakpe-Ajaokuta/Aladja-Warri Railway, the names of the beneficiaries are Alhaji Adamu Attah (Itakpe station), Dr. Olusola Saraki (Ajaokuta station), Admiral Augustus Aikhomu (Itogbo station), Major General George Innih Rtd. (Agenebode station), Anthony Eromosele Enahoro (Uromi station), Chief Tom Ikimi (Ekehen station) and Brigadier General Samuel Osagbowo Ogbemudia Rtd. (Igbanke station).

The Agbor Station Complex is named after former President Goodluck Jonathan, the Abraka station is named after Major General David Ejoor Rtd, the Opara station was named after Olorogun Micheal Ibru, Ujevwu station is named after Chief Alfred Rewane and the Railway village station Agbor is named after Vice Admiral Mike Akhigbe.

Enjoyed this article? Stay informed by joining our newsletter!


You must be logged in to post a comment.

About Author